Dallas and Road Race Fun!

So I’m currently in Dallas visiting a friend. Its nice and sunny, perfect for running in shorts! My flight was delayed getting in because of weather and general incompetency (whoops did I say that out loud??) but I made it and we’ve just been hanging out, eating, chilling. My friend is a teacher so he’s at work all so I sloth around in the mornings, go for a run, and then WRITE COVER LETTERS, surprise!!

He lives on the Katy Trail which is about 3.5 miles of really nice paved trails. They even have a separate trail for bikes and running! I woke up feeling really bad, my knee was KILLING me. But I went out for a run and once I was running it felt great. I know I should listen to my body but the run was the one time it didn’t hurt. Maybe my body is telling me to RUN more. bahaha. Anyways, I was going to just run short but i got inspired by Ali and went ahead and did a nice EASY SLOW 7. Which was quite lovely. Now i’m back at my friends, desperately trying to write some cover letters.

The Katy Trail (Photo from http://www.katytraildallas.org/site/PageServer), so pretty!

But in more exciting new two thing:

1) I got accepted to the Intensive Arabic Program at the American University in Cairo! I spent a weekend in Cairo and just loved it! I’m trying to decide if this is the right choice for me. On the one hand, I really want to learn Arabic and it would make it much easier for me to work in the Middle East. On the other hand, I’ve been in school for a long time and its pretty expensive. Dilemmas. I have till May 11th to make a decision… If anyone is actually reading, thoughts?

2) I’ve gone ROAD RACE CRAZY!! wohoo! i think cause its finally starting to warm up, and i’m seeing my disposable income shrink soon once my parents aren’t subsidizing my food and rent any longer, I’ve just gone a bit nuts… At least its a semi healthy nuts! I’m doing the Chicago Cinco De Miler 5 Mile race on May 7, the UAE Kidney 10K in Central Park on May 14, and probably the Girls on the Run 5K on June 4 and the North Shore Half Marathon on June 14th. I also REALLY want to do the Rock and Roll 5K in Chicago on June 19th but its two days after graduation and I’m worried I might not be up to it… (read I might be hungover after some celebration!!!). But I LOVED the Rock and Roll half last August but my best friend from high school is getting married that weekend this year so obviously I won’t do it.

Anywho. Big decisions, lots of tshirts coming my way, and heres to hoping this knee straightens it self out. PLEASE.

Okay. Enough procrastinating. Emily get a job. Now….. and gooooo!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

