The Long Awaited Brooklyn Marathon

So I’m definitely delayed in posting this but a race recap is in order nonetheless.

A few months ago my friend Lori mentioned she was running The Brooklyn Marathon and asked if I would like to join her. Despite the fact that it was two weeks after the Savannah marathon, I thought it sounded like a pretty fun no pressure race. I thought it’d be a good chance to try negative splitting even if I ended up slow and would be nice to keep trying to push past the wall. So we signed up, I ran Savannah and then i didn’t really run much in between.

So Sunday morning arrived and I trucked all the way out to Prospect Park. Now let me just explain the course. They took the map down but it was a total of 9 (yes NINE) laps around prospect park.

See pretty huh?

Now Prospect Park is really nice but anything nine times is not so nice. Lori and I got to the race and started running. We ran the first mile together at about 8:30 or 9:00 before we split off. I made a few friends:

Friends!

We chatted about running, this was their second marathon after having run Chicago this fall. I ran a nice 8 miles with them. It was lovely. Everyone kept cheering “girl power” which I found amusing. I’ve got to say the “crowds” though limited were great. Since you got to see the same people over and over (and over and over) again, everyone was really friendly. More then a few people were drinking some mimosas (and there might have been some shots going around) but everyone was psyched.

After mile 8 I went off on my own, trying to at least keep running. The hill in prospect park though small gets bigger after the 3 or 4th time you run it. I got lapped at least three times by the winners and did some of my own lapping. At about mile 14 I ran into Lori. She was not a happy camper. The array of curses that she spewed definitely amused me for a few miles.

At Mile 16 I saw a friendly face in the crowd. The ever AMAZING Anna showed up! And not only did she show up but she ran 8 whole miles with me! Thats a solid two laps around the park! She chatted and distracted me, even if our pace was pretty slow. She dropped at mile 24 to make sure she would see the finish and I took off, trying to drag the people around me towards the finish. At this point I just wanted to get out of the park.

I saw some friends at the very very end, mile 26 to be exact and excitedly motioned to come to the finish. The last .2 of the race was through a sad sad alley and i thought it would NEVER.EVER.END. But it did. and I finished! And stopped my garmin which was exceedingly helpful for helping me keep track of the distance. Though at one point i definitely got really excited that i was almost done only to realize I had miscounted a lap.

Stopping the Garmin. Nice Emily, way to look cute

4:09. Not too bad, not my slowest by any stretch and I never even felt like I was pushing too much. And weirdly I wasn’t sore at all.

Anna and my friends and I went and grabbed some brunch before fighting the weirdly not running subway home. I then proceeded to sit on a couch all afternoon until I ordered in Mashed Potatoes and Frozen Yogurt. Dinner of champions.

It was a pretty good day overall. Boring but friendly course. And I have AMAZING FRIENDS. LOVE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Long Awaited Brooklyn Marathon

  1. Christine says:

    wow. i’m in awe of you! CONGRATS!

Leave a Reply

